Secretary Wayne Williams to honor election-training veterans

Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams and Archuelta County Clerk June Madrid.
Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams and Archuelta County Clerk June Madrid during a visit in March. Madrid is one of 48 clerks and election staffers who began election training a decade ago and will be recognized next week.

The Colorado Secretary of State’s office this year celebrated its 10th anniversary of training election officials to ensure uniformity in administering elections and interpreting laws and rules.

To commemorate the occasion, the 48 people who completed their certification that year and still maintain their status and work in elections will be recognized next week at the Colorado County Clerks Association summer meeting. Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams will present 10-year pins to the recipients.

The Colorado Election Official Certification program began shortly after the passage of the Help America Vote Act, or HAVA. Then-Secretary of State Donetta Davidson recognized the need for better training and education of Colorado election officials.

“Our program keeps getting better,” SOS Deputy Elections Director Hilary Rudy said. “We’ve really upped the bar to make it a good, effective, professional program. And that’s largely from the feedback we’ve received over the years from the clerks and their staffs who attend the training.”

Secretary of State Wayne Williams and Moffat County Clerk Lila Herod.
Secretary Wayne Williams and Moffat County Clerk Lila Herod at the clerks’ winter meeting in January. Williams will present a pin to Herod at the clerks’ summer conference next week.

When the program was implemented, participants traveled to conference-style meetings where experts from Colorado and others discussed security, canvass procedures, mail ballots and such, said Amy Wilson, training coordinator for the Secretary of State. Over the years, she said, the program evolved to allow more participation.”

“The Secretary of State’s Office maintains a catalog of online courses that counties may take for their initial certification as well as their continuing education requirements,” Wilson said.

“The SOS also has more than a dozen classes that it presents at least once, sometimes twice, a year around the state.”

CCCA’s summer conference will be Monday, Aug. 1 through Wednesday, Aug. 3, at the Inverness Hotel & Conference Center. Arapahoe County Clerk Matt Crane and his staff are hosting the event.

Secretary Williams will hand out the pins to election recipients.
Secretary Williams will hand out the pins to election recipients.

Some staffers who received the training a decade ago were serving as county clerk at the time and still hold that title. Others have since been elected to that position. Those who will be honored next week are:

Alamosa: Clerk Melanie Woodward, Terri Carver
Archuleta: Clerk June Madrid, Noreen Griego
Bent: Clerk Patti Nickell, Virgie Robb
Boulder: Patricia M. Stahl
Broomfield: Clerk Jim Candelarie, Penny Norman, Mike Susek
Chaffee: Paula Barnett
Cheyenne: Louise Konecne
Clear Creek: Clerk Pam Phipps
Conejos: Clerk Lawrence Gallegos
Costilla: Clerk Karen Garcia
Crowley: Clerk Lucille Nichols
Douglas: Sheri Davis, Charlotte Gifford
Eagle: Clerk Teak Simonton
El Paso: Liz Olson, Brandi Bantz
Garfield: Clerk Jean Alberico
Grand: Clerk Sara Rosene
Gunnison: Kathy Simillion
Hinsdale: Clerk Linda Pavich
Jefferson: Bob Christensen
Kit Carson: Crystal Richards
Lake: Clerk Patty Berger
Larimer: Cynthia Coulter, Pat Magdziuk, Yolanda Medina
Lincoln: Clerk Corrine Lengel
Logan: Clerk Pam Bacon
Mesa: Clerk Sheila Reiner
Moffatt: Clerk Lila Herod
Otero: Clerk Sharon Sisnroy
Ouray: Clerk Michelle Nauer
Park: Clerk Debra Green, Susan Balicki
Phillips: Clerk Beth Zilla, Diane Rahe
Pitkin: Clerk Janice Vos Caudill
Routt: Vicki Weber
Summit: Clerk Kathy Neel
Washington: Clerk Garland Wahl
Weld: Rudy Santos
Yuma: Clerk Beverly Wenger, Pam Zuege