Recording board says farewell to Adams, Arapahoe clerks

The Electronic Recording Technology Board at its meeting Tuesday at the Colorado Secretary of State’s office. It is the last meeting for chairman Matt Crane, right, the outgoing Arapahoe County clerk. From left to right, board treasurer Gary Zimmerman, the SOS’ chief of staff; member Susan Corliss, the Kit Carson County clerk and recorder;  Charles Calvin with the Colorado Bar Association, Michelle Batey, the executive director of the ERTB; and Crane. (SOS photo)

The name is clunky — the Electronic Recording Technology Board. But its importance is hard to overstate — the board hands out grants to county clerks to update equipment that records property records, marriage licenses, mineral rights and more.

At Tuesday’s meeting at the Colorado Secretary of State’s office, the board paid tribute to two outgoing members, Arapahoe County Clerk Matt Crane and Adams County Clerk Stan Martin.

Crane has served as the chairman since the enterprise operation was created through legislation in 2016.  The measure also authorized clerks to charge a $2-a-document fee for five years to create a pool of money to help counties cover the cost of upgrades and purchases.

“It’s been fun to get this off the ground, considering where we were,” Crane said.

Michelle Batey, executive director of the Electronic Recording and Technology Board, stands behind two county clerks who serve on the board, Adam County’s Stan Martin and Kit Carson’s Susan Corliss, at an ERTB event in Lincoln County earlier this year.  (SOS photo)

Counties charge a dollar-per-document fee to file records, but for the majority of counties that money didn’t begin to cover upgrades and purchases, which is why legislation for the pool of money was sought. Crane credited clerks Sheila Reiner of Mesa County and Debra Johnson of Denver for help getting the legislation passed.

Adams Clerk Martin and Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams traveled to Lincoln County last spring when the board announced the first grants.

Three days later, Williams, Crane and another board member, Routt County’s Kim Bonner, then traveled to the mountains to award a grant to Eagle County Clerk Regina O’Brien.

“It’s been an honor and privilege to serve on the board,” Martin said Tuesday. “I appreciate everything you guys are doing to get the grant money out to the smaller counties, which is much needed. We’ve seen some great improvement in our recording technology. Thank you guys and keep up the great work that you all are doing.”

Crane and Martin are leaving the board because they lost their re-election bids in November.

Other board members include Gary Zimmerman, the Colorado Secretary of State office’s chief of staff, who is the treasurer. He, Crane andWilliams’ administrative assistant, Christopher Johnson, have also been an integral part in getting the board going.