A recap of municipal election results

The adage “all politics is local” prevailed as 120 Colorado cities and towns held elections earlier this month.

Term limits, sales-tax extensions and sales-tax defeats and pot votes, the Colorado Municipal League has the results:

Six municipalities requested and received permission to provide or partner to provide broadband services, including Firestone, Frisco, Lake City, Limon, Lyons, and Severance. This election brings the total of cities and towns who have received voter authorization to 92.

Voters in Naturita passed six separate questions relating to marijuana, voting to allow medical and retail marijuana sales, manufacturing, testing, and cultivation, as well as to implement a sales tax and an excise tax on retail marijuana. Berthoud voters approved allowing municipally licensed medical marijuana dispensaries to add retail sales.

Marijuana taxes passed in Crawford, Delta, Ordway, and Yuma. The lone marijuana tax to fail was in Orchard City.

Term limits
Pagosa Springs voters approved term limits of two consecutive four-year terms, while voters in Glendale approved term limits of three consecutive four-year terms. Lyons voters split the term limit questions, approving an increase to four two-year terms for a mayor, but keeping the limit for trustees at three. Voters in Red Cliff eliminated term limits for their elected officials.

Tax and bond issues
Fruita voters approved the city’s retention of all revenues from 2019 through 2024. Alma, Elizabeth, and Lyons voters passed lodging taxes.

Sales tax questions that passed around the state include:
• Basalt – new sales tax on tobacco and nicotine products
• Cortez – extension of sales tax for family recreation center
• Glendale – modification of current sales tax to remove earmark restricting use to water-related purposes
• Ignacio – new sales tax for capital improvements
• La Veta – extension of current sales taxes for museum expenses and street improvements
• Milliken – extension of sales tax for capital improvements
• Nederland – new sales tax for roads
• Paonia – new sales tax for general operating expenses

The sales tax questions that did not pass include:
• Arriba – for capital improvements
• Crestone – for general operating expenses
• Limon – for capital improvements
• Orchard City – for roads and law enforcement services

Wiley voters approved a mill levy increase, and Carbondale voters approved the extension of a current mill levy, both to fund streets and related improvements. Mill levy increases did not pass in Ault, Orchard City, and Pitkin.
Eckley voters approved $165,000 of debt for sanitation system improvements, Limon voters authorized $8.68 million of debt for capital improvements, and Nederland voters authorized $2 million of debt for wastewater improvements.
Erie’s request for debt authority of $13.75 million for a town hall expansion did not pass.

Publication requirements
Voters approved the publication of ordinances by titles only in Hugo, Kersey, Lake City, Milliken, and Springfield. Pitkin received authorization to no longer publish the bills list or contracts awarded.

Election date
Morrison and Palmer Lake voters approved moving their regular town elections to November of even-numbered years.

Administrative charter amendments
Glendale and Morrison voters approved updates to obsolete provisions of their home rule charter.

Other issues
• Antonito – approved the sale of a public building
• Berthoud – approved a 32.44 acre annexation
• Erie – approved the sale of 0.65 acres of town land
• Frisco – did not approve the sale or lease of a community park for residential use
• Pagosa Springs – approved the elimination of council districts and for council members to be elected at-large

Jon Keyser’s term limits pledge

The GOP U.S. Senate ballot in the June 28 primary election.
The GOP U.S. Senate ballot in the June 28 primary election.

A phrase under Jon Keyser’s name on the primary ballot for Republican U.S. Senate candidates is causing consternation among some voters.

It reads: “Signed declaration to limit service to no more than 2 terms.”

“Pretty blatant campaigning ON THE BALLOT,” one voter remarked to the Colorado Secretary of State’s office.

“Electioneering,” one woman complained to the elections staff.

“No,” she was told. “We’re just following the constitution.”

Coloradans in 1998 approved a constitutional amendment allowing candidates who want to choose voluntary congressional term limits to declare so on the ballot and on their election materials.

Read moreJon Keyser’s term limits pledge

So long, 2016 legislative session — and certain lawmakers

Senate President Bill Cadman, Senate Majority Leader Mark Scheffel and Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams on the final day of the 2016 legislative session Wednesday. (SOS photo)
Senate President Bill Cadman, Senate Majority Leader Mark Scheffel and Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams on the final day of the 2016 legislative session Wednesday. (SOS photo)

Another legislative session is in the history books and another crop of term-limited lawmakers is on its way out,  including Republican Bill Cadman and Democrat Mary Hodge, who each served 16 years under the Gold Dome.

Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams visited with lawmakers in the House and Senate on their final day of the session on Wednesday.

“Thank you for your service,” he said to Cadman, the Senate president, and Mark Scheffel of Parker, the Senate majority leader, who also is term limited.

Read moreSo long, 2016 legislative session — and certain lawmakers